Our Leadership

 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?’
And I said, ‘Here am I; send me!’”     Isaiah 6:8

The Session

The Presbyterian church enjoys a representative form of church government. Elected leaders (elders) join pastors in the running of the church.  The group of elders that govern a church body is called the Session. At First Presbyterian Church of Farmington, elders serve a three year term after they are elected.  Learn more about Presbyterian church government and our leadership from the PC(USA) website.

Elders currently serving on Session:

Class of 2019

Dot Basmaji
Dale Countegan
J.T. Gidley
Karen Linnell

Class of 2017

Bill Draper
Deb Lum
Matt Mataya
Karen Spica

Class of 2018

Howard Caylor
Rick Fuller
Ginnie Hubble
Eddie Matteson


 Clerk of Session: Sharon Cressman


The Board of Deacons

We also elect members to serve of the board of deacons. The deacons’ function is one of sympathy, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ.  Like elders, deacons at First Presbyterian serve a three-year term.  Read more about the various ministries of deacons at First Presbyterian on our “Deacons” page. 

Current Board of Deacons

Class of 2019

Dave Carlson
Mary Carson
Katie Malisow
Mickey Seiler


Class of 2017

Ruth France
Bill Kinney
Sally Kirsten
Helen Thomas
Emma Turkmani
Bob Van Hamme



Class of 2018

Martha Atta
Charlene Diehl
Ama Ofusha